Our Organizational Structure

Our 2013 Service Commission

Our 2013 Service Commission

The Organizational Structure of First Baptist Church Ottawa

First Baptist Church Ottawa is a member of the Canadian Baptists of Ontario and Quebec. Like all Baptist congregations we encourage our church family to play an active role in the work of Christ’s kingdom. To help organize and facilitate this work, our fellowship has four major boards and commissions:

    1. The Finance and Facilities Commission is responsible for the collection and the depositing of Church funds and all matters concerned with the upkeep, rental and maintenance of the Church building.
    2. The Fellowship Commission is responsible for activities to build up fellowship among Church members and adherents through social events, group activities and the maintenance of lists of volunteers for coffee hour and the donation of flowers for the Sanctuary.
    3. The Proclamation Commission is responsible for the Church School and Nursery Programs and works with the Church Music Director on the music program. It also encourages participation by Church members and adherents in the worship service.
    4. The Service Commission is responsible for all activities linking First Baptist Church with people and organizations outside the congregation such as Canadian Baptist Ministries, the Sharing Way, the Centretown Churches Social Action Committee and Habitat for Humanity.

All commissions include representatives from the Board of Deacons which is responsible for the overall lay leadership of the Church. The Board of Deacons consists of a President, the Church Clerk, the Church Treasurer and as many as six other members.